Introducing my BSBP swap partner

It’s Bead Soup Blog Party time again! This year marks the 8th BSBP, and there are almost 500 blogging beaders and jewellery designers from all over the world taking part. Lori Anderson has once again put in a tremendous amount of work to carefully pair us all up, no easy task! She visits each and every blog along the way, and the pairing process alone takes several weeks (and a lot of help from her family, thanks guys!).

The idea is simple. We are paired up with another jewellery designer, and we send each other a bead soup, containing at least one focal bead or pendant, a special clasp and some coordinating beads to make the soup sing!

So without further ado, let me introduce you to my swap partner for the 8th Bead Soup Blog Party. This year I am paired with Sandra Wollberg, who lives in Wiesbaden, in Germany. And I’m thrilled!

Sandra is someone I have crossed paths with many times on the Bead Soup Café Facebook group, and in various blog hops, but we’ve never really been formally introduced before now. We both tend toward an eclectic boho style: she works with more filigree and stampings than I do, but we both share a love for Czech beads, and like me, she tries out different techniques and styles as the mood takes her. This is what she made last year for BSBP7, from a soup put together by Finnish beader Merja Sundström:

So, I needed to come up with a soup that might offer a bit of a challenge, one way or another. Sandra tells me that she mostly works with earthy colours, greens and teals. OK, cross them off the list, along with the brass stampings. In the end, I sent her a few choices, a couple of different palettes to play with. I hope she has a lot of fun with her soup!

Here’s a teaser — I’ve pixelated this with Lego Photo (a fun app I have on my iPhone) and randomly chosen the colours too!

IMG_7142

The package is in the mail, hope the trip across the world goes quickly!

IMG_7141

I’ll blog about the soups we’ve sent each other once we have both received them. The big reveal is a couple of months away yet—May 3rd is the date. Can’t wait!

3 thoughts on “Introducing my BSBP swap partner

  1. This will be my first soup and I am so excited. I don’t know how Laurie chooses, but I really like my partner. It’s so nice to meet new people. I’ll be watching to see your soup and your creations. And I will check out your partner also.

  2. Oh, that teaser is vile. Lego AND random colors? Thank you for introducing me and my blog, I hope to return the favor in a bit. I finally got my blog up to date today – including shooting my layout template when I was trying to add an “on click” translation and having to do my layout all over from scratch. Blogger doesn’t have an undo button, I found out the hard way today.

    Can’t wait to see what you sent me, the packaging is beautiful! <3

  3. Pingback: Owls and dragonflies: the 8th Bead Soup Blog Party reveal is here! | beadrecipes

Leave a Reply

