Playing with beads

I want to show you some of the jewellery I have made in the past couple of months, but the photos are pretty awful. I’m still trying to work out the best way to photograph my creations, and it’s not easy. I think I need to spend some time practising. Anyway …

The world of jewellery is enormous, there are so many techniques and styles and things to try out. And soooo many beads. I love beads and I want all of them now! Oops!

This is one of the very first things I made, during an Intro to Jewellery class at the local bead store (which has sadly since closed). Czech glass in various shapes but similar purple hues, and gunmetal chain.

This necklace is a present I made a friend for her 40th birthday—she is an architect with a penchant for mid-century design. The beads are resin beads and I strung it on sterling silver beading wire. I was really pleased with how it turned out, to me it really captures that retro-atomic vibe. I have another version of it that I need to rework as I don’t think it is quite there, and some earrings too.

And this necklace is one that I made for my mother-in-law for Christmas. It uses tiny faceted tourmaline beads in colours from a dark mossy green to deep pink to almost an salmon pink, which I have threaded onto a piece of sterling silver wire, with a somewhat messy wrapped loop on each end to attach it to the delicate sterling silver chain. I made another one for my mum using tiny aqua blue Caribbean apatite and darker blue iolite, but the photo is too blurry. I will have to take another pic of it. I am planning to make more of these necklaces, as they don’t take long to do and they make lovely gifts (and I want one too!). I’ve got more of the tourmaline beads, as well as some other semi-precious gemstones, like labradorite, amethyst and rose quartz.

I’m hoping this weekend to get a couple more pieces made, maybe some earrings and a necklace. We’ll see.

One thought on “Playing with beads

  1. i’ll send you some jewelley items to you this week.. not sure if you can use them?? but let me know if you do – love to see photos..

Leave a Reply

