Back to school

It’s that time of the year here in Australia, and this year I have three kids in various states of new. Ella, the veteran, is starting her second year of primary school. Poppy is mega-excited about starting prep, the first year of formal schooling here in Victoria. And Jack starts 3 days a week in creche this week.

He’s the one I’m most worried about. Such a mama’s boy, it’ll be good for him in the end I think. But it’s so hard to hear him wanting his mama, when we had an orientation session last week. Poor little guy.

But the flip side is that I will get a chance to work, something I haven’t done too much of in the last 2 years. I’m looking forward to it, and dreading it too. Too much time off has not really been great for me. It’s such a personal thing — the decision to work when one has small children. And I’m certainly not working for the money, child care will gobble up most of that. Don’t get me started there!

In the meantime, I’m hoping to find some moments to cook and to create. This last week has mostly been about finding a new routine, and that’s going to continue for the next week or two. But I managed to find some time to make some more gemstone necklaces last weekend when we were away. I’m just waiting for some new clasps, as the ones I have are a bit large for the petite chain. When I have them, I’ll post a picture or two, promise!

Leave a Reply

