More blog hops and challenges

I’ve signed myself up for two more beady blog hops.

The first is Erin Prais-Hintz’s latest blog hop, in celebration of her Simple Truths pendants. I have bought a couple of these pendants in the past, one for a necklace that I made for a friend and a Woodsy Owl for me, which has been sitting in my bead box waiting for inspiration. And I just bought another, which may or may not make its way to me in time for the challenge. Anyway, the challenge is to make something with a Simple Truths pendant and then on 13 July, we’ll reveal what we made.

Here is my Woodsy Owl. I’m going to have a look through my collection of jaspers and other stones, and my Czech glass this weekend to see what might jump out at me.

The second challenge is the big one, the 6th Bead Soup Blog Party, organised by the very talented and inspired Lori Anderson. Lori partners up all of the participants who then send their partner some beads, including a focal, a clasp and some coordinating beads. The idea is to use both the focal and the clasp, separately or together, along with some of the other beads to make one or more pieces. The challenge comes from working with beads picked out by someone else, so perhaps in an unfamiliar style or colour scheme. This year the blog hop is happening on three different dates so that more participants can join in, as it is so popular—in fact this year there are going to be some 400 participants! I’ll find out this weekend who my partner is, can’t wait!!

I have to admit, one of the drivers behind starting this blog was the possibility of joining the Bead Soup Blog Party. And I’m finding that doing blog hops and challenges is a great way to motivate me and to stretch my creative muscles. And I love visiting other blogs to see what other jewellery designers have made, it’s a great inspiration to me and I learn a lot about how different elements can be used creatively.

In the mean time, I’ll leave you with a picture of some turquoise and leather earrings I made some time ago. I’ve been trying to get to my pile of jewellery projects but one after another, my family and I have been dropping like flies with a nasty chest infection. Hopefully I’ll get some things done this weekend that I can show you!

Leave a Reply

