I sold my first piece of jewellery!!!!

A couple of months ago, a friend asked me if I would make a piece of jewellery for her to give as a gift. Nervously I said yes. She had a look through the various photos of things I’ve made since starting this jewellery thing and decided she liked the chain and glass necklace that I made at my very first bead class.

We discussed the kinds of beads she wanted (purple), the kind of chain (silver-plated) and other important things like that. I set about acquiring the beads I didn’t already have in my stash and got to work.

And then life got in the way. Between school and work and kids who get sick, the necklace almost became an unfinished object. But I finished it this weekend, and I sent it off this afternoon. Eeek! I hope she likes it as much in person as she did the picture.

The crystals are Czech fire-polished crystal in light amethyst with a lustre finish. The three rectangular ones (which have a slight twist to them) came in a mixed bag of beads, and matched the other beads perfectly. The necklace has a lovely sparkle to it, which you can kind of see in the picture!

Speaking of pictures, I really need to learn how to take better photos of my creations. At the moment, I use my iPhone camera, which is pretty good. I even have a macro lens I can use for up-very-close-and-personal pictures. And I’ve been playing around with Instagram to edit the pics and give them a bit of, well, atmosphere I guess. I especially like the lo-fi filter, it doesn’t alter the colours too much and it looks kinda cool. But composition-wise, I’m not there yet. Practice makes perfect I guess. I really should learn to use Matt’s digital SLR and some decent editing software. PicMonkey is pretty good I hear.

Anyway, now I’ve crossed that first hurdle and sold my first piece of jewellery, I should start thinking more seriously about how to sell more. Matt would like to get at least a little return from my bead stash! I need to think about the best way to do things—and come up with a name!

8 thoughts on “I sold my first piece of jewellery!!!!

  1. Beautiful necklace..purple beads are so vivid! Best way to get out there is to use the social medias to make connections and show your work. You are off to a great start. CONGRATS on your first sale!!
    Ps..doesnt your husband know that “return on ” really translates to “return TO”, as in return to Michaels..return to etsy etc…and return WITH more beads!!

Leave a Reply

