Secret Bluebird

Here is a little blue bird, swinging on a branch, perhaps singing his little heart out.

IMG_2721lores

It’s a necklace I made late last year for a gift exchange I took part in via Bead Swap-USA. I was assigned a person to be a “Secret Sister” to, sending her gifts to over a period of three months leading up to Christmas. My recipient, who lives in California, likes birds.

The glass bird comes from Bellissimo Jewels, a local lampworker, and I picked it up at the Bead Expo in November (along with a bunch of orphan beads and some fun enamelled filigree, which will no doubt surface in a design one of these days). I wrapped it onto a brass branch from Vintaj, and added a few Czech glass beads in shades ranging from a rustic earth to turquoise blue.

IMG_2716lores

I made a pair of earrings too.

IMG_2718lores

Other gifts I sent included some notecards with hand-embellished birds, a couple of books (one a SF/fantasy novel by an Australian writer and the other a book of inspiring necklace designs), some tiny hummingbird and kittycat charms and a small packet of Japanese fabric. I hope Sue enjoys them all!

I also had a secret sister of my own, who sent me presents all the way from Tennessee, including some lovely lampwork beads, a stash of beads and bobs to replenish my cheap and cheerful supplies after last year’s school craft market, and a couple of handmade pieces. She is a talented seedbeader …

IMG_2820lores

… and she also makes interesting and beautiful polymer clay pieces. This is tiny, by the way, a couple of centimetres high.

IMG_2818lores

Thanks again, Lindsay!

One thought on “Secret Bluebird

Leave a Reply

