A gift for Lill

Last year I received a gift from an old friend of my parents. Lill, a textile artist, went to Ghana as part of an artists’ tour, and she brought me back some wonderful Krobo glass trade beads, recycled glass beads and brass. I’ll be writing more about these soon, but in the mean time, here’s a picture.

Krobo beads collage

In thanks I made Lill a necklace. It’s a very late thank you, as I dithered over what beads to use—Lill wears colourful and chunky jewellery. In the end I chose a pendant that I received in a Bead Swap-USA exchange. It’s a fabulous and unique pendant from US artist Meg Hannan, who uses fabric to create pendants in a millefiori style that she calls Fabric Jewels. Here’s a close up of the pendant. Gorgeous, huh??

IMG_5379

I strung it with a selection of glass beads including Czech glass and cultured sea glass in colours I pulled from the pendant.

IMG_5381

My parents gave it to her a couple of weeks ago when they visited her. I’m glad you love it Lill!

5 thoughts on “A gift for Lill

Leave a Reply

