ArtBeadScene July Challenge

This month, the Art Bead Scene challenge is a painting by Picasso of one of his wives, Olga Koklova. Painted in 1917, the picture is a portrait in cool greens and blues, with a leafy floral motif.

Portrait of Olga in the Armchair, 1917
Pablo Picasso
Oil on Canvas 130 × 88.8 cm
Colour palette by Brandi Hussey

I used the colours in the painting as my primary inspiration for this necklace, which has a green floral ceramic focal by Marsha Neal. I matched it with a couple of ceramic beads and Czech beads in various hues of greens, blues and browns. I put the leafy brass clasp to one side and balanced it with a couple of small brass floral links.

ABS July challenge collage

And there is a pair of earrings to match, with smaller versions of the ceramic focal, and some of the Czech glass beads.

IMG_5580

I’m planning a few posts this week. On Wednesday I will reveal what I made with the porcelain flower pendant from Suburban Girl Studio I received as a guest designer for Art Jewelry Elements’ Component of the Month challenge. And on Saturday I plan to have something ready for Sharyl McMillian-Nelson’s Summer Color Inspiration Challenge.

6 thoughts on “ArtBeadScene July Challenge

  1. I think this is a lovely entry for the ABS challenge. I’m glad you left a note on that page. I just did the same, but on the original ABS page. I don’t know that everyone gets included in the summary always, but I’m so glad I got to see your submission!

Leave a Reply

