Summer Colour Inspiration Challenge

PicMonkey Collage_SJ_Summer Color Inspiration Challenge_2013

Welcome to the Summer Colour Inspiration challenge, hosted by Sharyl McMillian-Nelson. My apologies to Sharyl for being a day late with this, I think I took on too much this week with 3 challenges in a row! Anyway, I got here in the end.

Sharyl provided us with a beautiful set of floral photos to use as inspiration for the challenge, asking us to pick one for our inspiration. I picked number 7, a beautiful combination of deep fuschia pinks and violet, with a touch of lime green foliage.

Pic 7

I had a few strands of glass and dyed stone beads in pinks and greens that I wanted to use, and while digging through my art beads I came across a gorgeous boho polymer clay owl made by Martha Eason of Menagerie Studios in just the right shades.  With so many bright colours, simple seemed best so I strung a repeated sequence of beads and added some sari silk woven through the chain.

boho owl necklace

Thank you for the challenge Sharyl, I loved the colours I had to choose from! And here are the other participants:

Sharyl McMillian-Nelson     Sharyl’s Jewelry   Hostess!

Kashmira Patel   …..    Sadafulee…always in bloom!

Lisa Lodge   …..   A Grateful Artist – Pine Ridge Treasures

Tanty Sri Hartanti   ….   TJewellicious by Tanti 

Kathy Lindemer ….  Bay Moon Design

Laren Dee Barton … Laren Dee Designs

Melissa Trudinger  … Beadrecipes <– YOU ARE HERE!

6 thoughts on “Summer Colour Inspiration Challenge

  1. Dear Melissa, I checked in several times today and am so happy to see you got your blog up for us! And, may I say, you did not disappoint!! I LOVE your design, love the colors, the use of sari silk in the large link chain. I adore that ceramic pendant and it all comes together in a very pretty, colorful necklace with a touch of whimsy. Love love love, girlfriend!

    Laren 🙂

  2. I was very fond of this color scheme too! (Hint, check my blog tomorrow…) But, wow! You really did it proud! It’s the end of a long, hard work day for me here, and I just can’t take my eyes of this! I’m smiling ear-to-ear! What a happy piece of jewelry!

    So glad you joined the blog hop, Melissa!

Leave a Reply

