Dancers’ skirts: Art Bead Scene April challenge

At the last minute I have managed to put something together for the Art Bead Scene April challenge, which features a painting by French Impressionist Edgar Degas as our inspiration. I’ve always loved Degas’ art, and to me this painting captures the dynamic beauty of ballet contrasted with the endless waiting behind the scenes.

april 2014 - degas palette

Swaying Dancer (Dancer in Green), 1877-79, by Edgar Degas. Pastel and Gouache on Paper 26″ x 14″ (66 x 36 cm). Palette by Brandi Hussey

I was browsing through one of my favourite ceramic beadmaker’s pages—Peruzi— when I came across a pendant that matched the dancers’ tutus almost perfectly, right down to the flashes of browns and oranges in the blue-green skirts (it’s kind of dark and rainy today, so the photos aren’t the best, sorry!).

IMG_7465

To go with the pendant I selected a collection of beads in blues and blue-greens, ambers and peaches, knotted with denim blue and orange waxed linen cord. Some little dangling flowers in translucent blue-green and peach at the junction with the chain remind me of ballet skirts.

Dancers skirts necklace

I’ll be adding this blog post to tomorrow’s Art Bead Scene monthly challenge post, so pop over then to look at what other people have been inspired to make this month. And make sure you come back on Saturday for my BSBP8 reveal!

 

4 thoughts on “Dancers’ skirts: Art Bead Scene April challenge

  1. That pendant is so incredibly “right on”! If I didn’t already know the answer, I might have to ask, “Which came first, the painting or the pendant?” Somebody was channelling Degas! Your selection of beads just finishes the necklace perfectly. Atta girl!

Leave a Reply

