Two Trees: My Country blog hop

Canadian bead blogger Nan Smith is hosting the My Country blog hop today (which happens to be Canada Day). We’ve been challenged to use our own country as inspiration to make something, not necessarily a piece of jewellery. Australia is my country of birth and of residence, but Australia is a big country, with a lot of potential inspiration, from the beaches to the deserts, cities to bush and more. So I’ve been thinking hard about what I could do for this challenge.

A few weeks ago, we went away for a long weekend, up in Northern Victoria. The drive up, especially once you get off the Hume Highway, is pretty, passing through farming land and wine country. There’s an iconic rural Australian-ness about the scenery, rolling hills, gum (eucalyptus) trees dotted across the landscape, perhaps some sheep or cattle in the dusty green paddocks. The sky is blue, maybe with some high clouds scattered across it. And the landscape is wide open.

By Matilda at en.wikipedia (Transferred from en.wikipedia) [Public domain], from Wikimedia Commons

By Matilda at en.wikipedia (Transferred from en.wikipedia) [Public domain], from Wikimedia Commons

Of course I didn’t get any pictures of the trees at the time, but when I started thinking about this blog hop, the images were the ones I kept seeing in my mind’s eye. So I went looking for some pictures online for you. Here’s another good one! As you can see, the shape is really distinctive.

By Alexander110 (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

By Alexander110 (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

With this in mind, I went looking for tree pendants from my favourite Aussie bead maker Peruzi, and found the perfect one. Only, there were two versions that appealed to me, a daytime pendant with the tree against the blue and white sky, and a sunset pendant with a background of vivid oranges and yellows, and I couldn’t decide which one I liked more. So I ended up with two necklaces, each of mixed Czech beads knotted onto walnut brown waxed linen cord. The bead above each pendant is a natural wooden bead made from an Australian timber, although I can’t tell you which one each is made from.

One tree paddock Collage

I’m really rather pleased with these two necklaces!

As I said, this is a blog hop, and there are 25 participants. Please take some time to visit their blogs.

Hostess: Nan Smith (Canada)                      wirednan.blogspot.ca

Ana (Portugal)                                                 acbeads.blogspot.ca

Rita (Orlando)                                                 JewelSchoolFriends.com

Dini (The Netherlands)                                 angazabychanges.blogspot.nl

Robin Reed (Indiana)                                    willowdragon.blogspot.com

Lilik Kristiana (Indonesia )                          pcbylik.blogspot.com

Karla Morgan (Texas)                                    texaspepperjams.blogspot.com

Karen Mitchell (South Australia)                www.overthemoon-design.com

Jayne Capps (Oklahoma)                              mamasgottodoodle.blogspot.com

Melissa Trudinger (Australia)                      beadrecipes.wordpress.com <– YOU ARE HERE

Johana Nunez (Puerto Rico)                         artincendi.com

Kepi (Alberta)                                                   kepirasmussen.blogspot.ca

Deb Fortin (Ontario)                                       studiok24.blogspot.ca

Divya (India)                                                     jewelsofsayuri.com

Tammy Adams (Arizona)                               paisleylizard.com/blog.html

Kay Thomerson (Texas)                                 kayzkreationz.blogspot.com

Bairozan (Bulgaria)                                         bairozan.blogspot.ca

Carolyn’s Creations                                         carolynscreationswa.blogspot.com

Lecia Woessner (New Orleans)                    copperroses.blogspot.com

Linda A. (Wash. D.C.                                      FromTheBeadBoard.blogspot.com

Inge Van Roos (California)                            ingetraud.wordpress.com

Natalie (New Zealand)                                   www.northshoredays.com

Lori Schneider                                                 beadaddicted.blogspot.com

Mary Harding (New York)                            maryhardingjewelrybeadblog.blogspot.com

Bouchra Rebai (Algeria)                                bouchrarebai.wordpress.com

Michelle McCarthy (Florida )                       Fireflydesignstudio.blogspot.com

18 thoughts on “Two Trees: My Country blog hop

  1. Australia is beautiful, especially looking through your eyes. And I actually know people that have visited and told us a lot about it 🙂 The vast open scenery is gorgeous and the shape of the eucalyptus trees has luckily inspired others, so that you could make this tribute to the nature of Australia. Both necklaces are beautifully designed in earthy and sky colors – they were destined to be created together 🙂

  2. I’ve always wanted to visit Australia but, like my native Canada, it is such a vast land that one would need more than a typical vacation time to see it all. so an armchair traveller am I.

    you made two lovely necklaces each with it’s own character but sharing a similar vein. How clever of you to make one necklace to wear in the Summer /Fall and one to wear in Winter/Spring.

  3. Two gorgeous necklaces…big,beautiful and colorful just like Oz! Those pendants are perfect and I see why you couldn’t choose between them! The richness of all the colors in the beads complements them very well. Thank you for telling us about the trees. After today I will always think of them when thinking about Australia. Thanks for joining in with such enthusiasm.

  4. What an old tree…lovely and perhaps I’m gonna hug them if I were there =) I believe there are many rural place with stunning natural scenery in Aussie. And I like your idea to make two different colors of necklace. The colors is so bold…beautiful!

  5. I love such tress – my friend used to draw them all the time and seeing these pieces brings back lot of old memories. I love how you have injected color into those pieces they are delightful

  6. Melissa, I love the chunky beads and pendants in your necklaces! I live right under a very large gum tree just like the one in the second photo.
    The red necklace reminds me of the colours in the Red Centre around Uluru but I really love the blue necklace.

  7. Great pictures of those trees! And such a source of inspiration! The necklaces are both very beautiful, it’s also bit like autumn and summer, leaves and beach for me, when looking at them. I can imagine your happy with them!

  8. I have to say, I wear so little yellow/orange/red and yet I’m really drawn to that one. I think it was a great idea to show ‘two sides of the same coin.’

  9. Really gorgeous Melissa – and those tree pendants are perfect in so many ways. I would love to visit your country some day! I have friends who lived there for a year and a half but I just didn’t have enough money to go over and visit them at the time – something I always regret.

  10. These are really cool Melissa!!! I love them both! I am really getting to like waxed linen and other cords too! I love the mix of beads adn the knotting ,…just all of it!!! Have a Blessed Day!

  11. Pingback: "My Country" Blog Hop:  Welcome to Arizona - Paisley Lizard

Leave a Reply

