Upcycling for jewellery display

I’m constantly working on my display options for markets and shows. Recently I have been inspired by Tammie Everly‘s upcycled suitcase display, which she blogged about in April. And then a group I belong to, Bead Swap USA, held a Facebook challenge to “think outside the box”, for us to take a plain box and decorate it. As the challenge description said:

You know those little wooden boxes available at all the big box craft stores? Your challenge, if you choose to accept it, is to go get one and decorate it with whatever medium or mediums you what. You can paint it, decoupage it, felt it, bead it, and mix media it up to your hearts content. You can choose whatever size box you like, with or without a clasp. 

Well, some time ago (maybe a couple of years ago), I picked up a wooden box on the side of the road, someone had put it into hard rubbish. It had a broken clasp and the inserts inside it were also broken, but I thought that I would be able to do something with it. Of course, it then sat there, and sat there, and sat there …

IMG_7777

When I started doing shows about 18 months ago, I started to paint it, and then went on to easier things, like trays and papier maché busts. So it sat there some more. And then this challenge came along and I thought, aha!

So I painted it inside and outside, first with a colour called Eggshell (it’s kind of a greyish off-white), and then with a lovely aqua blue called Sea Breeze, which I watered down a bit and also wiped with a sponge to get a streaky translucent effect. In retrospect, I probably should have sanded the outside of the box down, but it’s fine for the intended purpose.

IMG_7858

I took some foamcore board and cut it just a bit smaller than the inside of the box—two pieces, one for each side—and covered it with burlap. The pieces just pop in nicely, although I think I will get some double-sided tape and stick them in a bit more firmly. And voila!

IMG_7856

I’m undecided what I will display in this box, but bracelets are a good possibility. Or perhaps my collection of resin cufflinks and earrings. I will have to experiment before The Handmade Show next month. And I’ll need to rework my table to fit it in too. Currently my display looks something like this:

IMG_7781

Would you like to see some of the other elements of my display sometime?

5 thoughts on “Upcycling for jewellery display

  1. Melissa- Thanks so much for the shout out, glad I could inspire you. I LOVE what you did with your box and I know it will make a fantastic display piece for you. That ‘robins egg’ blue it my favorite color by the way. Best wishes for success at your upcoming show. – Warm Regards, Tammie

  2. Your current display is very customer friendly, I especially like the wood pieces, everything is neat and easy to see. The new box will certainly bring some pop of color. I also like the burlap for its neutral color and you can also pin things to it 🙂

  3. Love the box idea! Just like Rosantia said above, it should bring a nice pop of color to your already friendly display.

  4. I love learning about how different artists display their work for sale and more posts about your display elements would be wonderful 🙂

Leave a Reply

