Meet my Swap’n’Hop Partner: Niky Sayers

Swapnhop button

I’m taking part in the Bead Peeps Swap’n’Hop, a riff on the popular “swap beads with a partner and make something”-style blog challenges. I was thrilled to discover that my assigned swap partner is Niky Sayers of Silver NikNats. Niky is a super-talented, self taught jewellery designer and metalsmith in the UK.

I’ve been following Niky’s blog for a while, and I just love her work. We share a love of art beads, among other things. And I wish I could do the things she does with metal and gemstones!

She has been playing with old coins, making fabulous lockets, pendants and clasps from shillings and sixpence and farthing coins, which she sells on Etsy. I love how she combines the old coins with the sparkly gems.

Niky Sayers lockets

And I love this set of rings she made recently for Sally Russick’s Make a Statement Challenge, using one of Jen Cameron’s headpins.

Niky Sayers rings

Her earrings are tiny works of art, inspired by—and indeed fit for—a princess. This pair was inspired by Cinderella.

Cinderella earrings

So now I’m looking at my own collection of art beads and thinking about what I could send Niky. I’ve got a few ideas, and hopefully will have something in the mail for her by the end of the week. Can’t wait to see what you’ve picked out for me Niky, I’m sure it’ll be amazing!

 

 

One thought on “Meet my Swap’n’Hop Partner: Niky Sayers

  1. Thank you so much for such a lovely introduction Melissa, I shall be keeping my fingers crossed that you like what I have planed for you! x

Leave a Reply

