Blog Hops and Challenges

Petals

It’s reveal day for this month’s Art Elements Challenge and the theme for July is flowers. I have plenty of floral beads in my stash, but with not much time to make, I thought I would use a couple of pairs of ceramic charms from Natalie Fletcher-Jones. She has been making some fun new styles featuring petals, which she sells through Facebook at a few different groups.

For each pair, I have kept things simple, letting the charms be the hero of the design. The first pair drove me crazy trying to wrap the little teardrop beads, until I realised I had some fine jumprings that I could thread through the holes. Phew!

And for the second pair, I went even more minimalist, just dangling the charms from a coordinating bead. Easy-peasy but quite sweet.

Please forgive the somewhat dark photos, there wasn’t much light left by the time I took these pictures!

This challenge is a blog hop with plenty of other designers joining in. Please visit them if you can!

Here is a list of the Visiting Artists:
Alysen
Cat
Divya
Evie and Beth
Jill
Hope
Kathy
Linda
Louise
Martha
Melissa
Michelle
Rozantia
Sarah
Sarajo
Tammy

And the Art Elements Blog Contributors:
Caroline
Cathy
Claire
Jenny
Laney
Lesley
Marsha
Susan

16 thoughts on “Petals”

  1. Thank you for participating this month Melissa! I love that you use artists pieces in your work and that they only need just a bit of magic to make them into quite lovely earrings instead of sitting around in a bead bin waiting for their day to be used. Well done! đŸ™‚

  2. Both of your designs are so pretty, but those second ones steal the show for me. I do have to say, thank goodness for those finer gauge jump rings!!

  3. My favorite is the first. The colors and the ceramics are wonderful–perfect for the summer.

  4. Love both pairs! Those charms are just lovely… thanks for introducing me to a new art bead maker. I feel your pain on those tiny teardrops. Jump rings are definitely the way to go!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.