A matter of balance

Inspiring-Change-Blog-Button2

Today is the reveal day for Tracy Statler’s Wellness Words jewellery challenge and blog hop.

In Tracy’s words:

Choose an inspirational word or phrase in an area of your life where you want to make positive change.  Make sure your words truly represent something you want to work on.  Don’t choose a word because it looks good, is popular right now or someone else thinks you should choose it.

Incorporate your words into your design.  It does not have to be complicated.  Perhaps simple is better.  That way you may want to wear your jewelry more often so you can be reminded of your words and focus on the healthy change part of this challenge.

My word is a word I keep coming back to:

BALANCE

My life at the moment is not balanced. I have three children ranging in age from 3 to 7. The two girls are have just gone back to school, my little boy starts kindergarten (preschool) next week. I have a (very) part time job that I fit in around school drop offs and pick ups. Then there are after school activities like swimming, gymnastics, ballet, music practice and homework! I love to make jewellery, but that is usually relegated to the evenings and weekends, when I’m not running around to birthday parties and family gatherings. I spend too much time on the computer and not enough time doing things I need to do. I rarely get to bed before midnight, and I am usually up just after 7am, with at least one wake-up to kids in the middle of the night. I ended last year feeling absolutely exhausted. And now it’s all starting up again, with school starting back this week after the summer holidays.

So this is my year to work toward a more balanced life. I know that I won’t achieve everything, but some balance will not go astray. If nothing else I’d like to find a bit of time for me, to take a dance class, go for a walk, anything to make sure that doing the grocery shopping on my own isn’t the highlight of my week!

Enough about the why, let’s move on. I have been playing with clay with my Mum. A couple of weeks ago, we had a lovely day making pendants and stuff out of porcelain clay, including some (hopefully) great leaf-shaped bracelet connectors with my word stamped on them. Unfortunately they’re sitting in the kiln waiting to be bisque fired. So it was time for plan B. After thinking about what I could do with some metal blanks but no stamps, I decided to break out the polymer clay.

Here are the two bracelet connectors I made, using Premo, late last night (nothing like a deadline … thankfully it worked!). I highlighted the word with Vintaj patina ink in Cobalt as it was the only thing I could think of — most of the paints in our house are of the Crayola variety. They’re not super-clean but they have a certain appeal, I think!

IMG_3438lores

I matched the connector to some sari silk from my stash, and added some elongated brass chain. It’s a very simple design, but that makes it more likely I’ll wear it!

IMG_3437lores

I still plan to use the porcelain connectors once they are completed. I made several, so Mum and I will be able to play with different oxides and glazes. I promise I’ll show you what works!

Thanks Tracy, for making me think about what is important to me! And please hop over to some of the other blogs involved!

acreativeforce.blogspot.com
alankarshilpa.blogspot.com
allprettythings.ca
anniamaebisuteria.blogspot.com.es/
apolymerpenchant.com
beadlolabead.blogspot.com/
beadrecipes.wordpress.com — YOU ARE HERE!
centsations.wordpress.com
clay-space.com/
creativeatelier.net
elliesbijoux.com
emakdesigns.com
erinsiegel.com
etsy.com/shop/shamaen
facebook.com/hotsouthernmessdesigns
facebook.com/soquilidesigns
fairiesmarket.blogspot.com
firstimpressiondesign.blogspot.com
gemsbyjudy.com
glasstastreasures.blogspot.com
handcraftedserenity.blogspot.com
facebook.com/azuresunshines
facebook.com/whdalaska
jeanetteblix.com
kimmykats.com
kymhunterdesigns.blogspot.com
lisayangjewelry.com
macmillanmarie.blogspot.com
makebraceletsblog.com — our Hostess!
miabellasoul.com
misheldesigns.com
mycreativechallenge.blogspot.com
noseycritters.blogspot.com
pixiloo.blogspot.com
sandivolpe.com
sharonsjewelrygarden.blogspot.com
shaterra.etsy.com
shinylittlethings.blogspot.com
shymedesign.se
shymessmycken.blogspot.se
simpleearthcreations.com
soultosubstance.com
suebeads.com
sunshinebliss.com
sweetbeadstudio.com
sweetwillowdesigns.blogspot.com
thebeadingyogini.com
thestudiosublime.com
treasures-found.blogspot.com
twitter.com/ldymlivelystone
vault31.blogspot.com
veradesigns.blogspot.com
15 thoughts on “A matter of balance

  1. Great word Melissa. I can relate! You make me want to play with clay. It is a perfect medium for stamping motivational jewelry. Really pretty. Thanks so much for taking the time participate!

    Tracy

  2. I hope you can achieve your balance. I have four grandkids and the ONE weekend that they’re all here is exhausting, so I can only imagine! But they grow so fast.

    Great bracelet, I love it!

  3. Simple, but beautiful. I could have been reading my own life summary. I have 3 children, youngest just started school and my life is as busy as it’s ever been. Oh, and I still have at least one of them getting up most nights – sorry that bit doesn’t improve!!

    ** Kate **

  4. I love the colors you used. I can relate to your story! I have two children (one in high school & one in middle school). I am super busy with all of their activities. Try to enjoy – time goes so fast!!

  5. This is such a good word for so many of us. It’s hard to find that balance between raising a family and finding time to create. Hopefully your bracelet will inspire you to find ways to streamline your days so you have more time for your creative pursuits. Or maybe make an art date with yourself once a month, so you’ll have it on the calendar!

  6. I can completely relate to the word balance! You life sounds a lot like mine! Maintaining some kind of balance on our lives definitely keeps us more focused and grounded. With little children it can be so tough to achieve but doing so in baby steps at a time will help. I love the piece you created and the colors you used.

  7. Balance is difficult especially when your children are still young. That will change, I promise. Super clean is over rated. I love these just like they are. It gives them a vintage, rustic look which goes perfectly with the sari silks. I love what you have created and think it wonderful that you get to create with your Mom.

  8. Hey there, balance buddy! You know that you are not alone! I can very much relate to the things you wrote about. Balance is so challenging for me. I have been making some headway on some but falling back on others. Like health. That big rock. And here I sit at 1:07am when I should be sleeping. But I am still so glad that I came here to see how you manifested the word (in the same font that I used! We are kindred!)Thank you for sharing this. Enjoy the day. Erin

  9. Ah, yes. The elusive balance!!! I think we can all relate. I know it is something I am always striving for as well. You are so wise to choose this word. It is an important element for well-being, but quite a challenging one.

Leave a Reply

