Beads, Blog Hops and Challenges

Art Bead Scene June Challenge

It’s been a few months since I managed to make something for the Art Bead Scene monthly challenge. But I did make something this month! Well, a small confession — I actually made this last month, but using the inspiration artwork for June (which I had downloaded earlier in the year thanks to ABS making us a little booklet containing the year’s artwork, month by month).

Profile on Red Meanders, formerly Jeanne d’Arc. Odelin Redon, 1900, Pastel

The artwork is by Odelin Redon, a French artist active in the late 1800s to early 1900s, and it really has the most vibrant and luminous colours, quite at odds with the renaissance feel to the female head featured in the painting. I was really taken by the combination of pinks and blues and greens.

I pulled out one of the folk-inspired birds that Heather “Humblebeads” Powers has been making in recent months, a beautiful deep pink one with blue accents. I made a tassel out of embroidery silks that coordinated with it beautifully, but I needed a large bead to balance it. Serendipitously I received a package of funky knitted beads from KnittenJen’s Beads, and one of them paired beautifully with Heather’s bird. I kept the rest of the necklace simple, just stringing it onto a piece of suede thonging. I have had thoughts about adding some more beads (I do have some similar knitted beads without the seed bead embellishment), although to be honest I would need some larger beads than are common in my stash to give the necklace balance. Maybe if the right beads come along I’ll play with a new design but I’m enjoying wearing it like thisat the moment.

Once I’d made the necklace, I of course needed some earrings to wear with it, so I pulled out a pair of Heather’s charms and some Czech glass beads and whipped up a pair in coordinating colours.

Thank you for the colourful inspiration ABS, I now have a new go-to necklace and I have some more birds and some more knitted beads that may find themselves paired together in something similar in the near future!

 

10 thoughts on “Art Bead Scene June Challenge”

  1. What a fabulous pair! I think the necklace is perfect as it. You’ve got some strong components there that could easily speak for themselves, but you’ve made them work so well together. And the earrings are beautiful as well. I can see wearing either one of these on their own rather than as a set as they are each such focal points. Wonderful job with this inspiration!!

  2. Beautiful designs: love the bird bead and the knitted bead — very unique. The earrings are so fun!

  3. This is the first time I have come across knitted beads and I really like the look of them. I love the opaque Czech glass too and would love to get my hands on some

  4. Beautiful! I too haven’t seen knitted beads, definitely going to check them out. But I love how your colors came together and your little bird. Makes for a very happy necklace!

  5. Such cute designs! I love how you used Heather’s bird and charms… and that knitted bead is so different!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.