Beads, Blog Hops and Challenges

The Wonky Bead Blog Hop

A little while ago, Kristi Bowman decided to hold a blog hop to see what jewellery designers might want to do with her new “wonky beads“—big fat chunky polymer clay beads in vibrant colours and textures. I jumped right in and ordered the Fuschia colourway. When the beads arrived I was thrilled with them, they are such vibrant silky colours!

IMG_5854

It took me a while to decide what to do with the beads, as they are much larger than I usually play with, and I was unsure what to pair them with. In the end, I pulled out some ivory large hole pearls in similar hues to the single ivory wonky bead, and found a bag of purple Greek ceramic beads with magenta and gold splotches (technical term, that one!), as well as some lavender waxed linen cord and antique brass chain.

IMG_5882

While I was in Kristi’s shop, I also picked up a pair of flower charms in the same shade of purple. I knotted them to a pearl and then continued to knot the linen up the front of the brass earring wire, twisting it around as I went.

IMG_5897

I’m really happy with how this set turned out, think I might keep them for myself!

Thanks again Kristi for the opportunity to play with your funky wonky beads! There are other participants in the blog hop, please go and have a look at their creations on Kristi’s blog, or hopefully by clicking on the links below!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

11 thoughts on “The Wonky Bead Blog Hop”

  1. So bright an vibrant! I love the pearl dangles on the necklace, and your earrings are darling! I can see why you would want to keep these for yourself!

  2. I love those colors! I also love that you used the cord and was able to show off the textures on teh front of the beads. I really wanted to do that, but couldn’t quite make it work. The earrings are a great addition! I love that they match in color, but are different beads. 🙂

  3. Oh wow so many things I love about this. The pearls are awesome, so unexpected but they work so well. Those tube beads are perfect additions as well. Love fiber and the dangles too!! The earrings are wonderful, I’m not surprised you’re considering keeping them for yourself!! Thanks so much for joining my hop!!

  4. The first thing I thought was – like everybody else wrote- wow, what a great combination with the pearls. So… I’m going to write it too 🙂 I love the design, it’s well-balanced! And o so ♥sweet, the earrings!

  5. I love what you did with the waxed cord and the pearls. Such a great piece. And a great pair of earrings, too. I like the knotted cord with the beads and pearls.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.