Beads, Blog Hops and Challenges

AJE Art Headpins Challenge

Art Jewelry Elements always comes up with fun challenges and this month’s headpins challenge is a doozy! Art headpins are fancy headpins, not just your run of the mill headpins, and are made with lampwork glass, polymer clay, ceramics or metal. They are often used in earrings but can also be used to make interesting pendants.

I have a few fancy headpins in my stash, but I rarely use them, so this was a good nudge to do so. I ended up making three pairs of earrings. I would have liked to make more things and possibly not earring things, but I’ve started a new job recently so my creative time is a bit shorter than usual.

The first pair uses some flower headpins I’ve had for a long, long time, maybe four years or more. In fact I’m not even sure who made them, although I know they were by an Australian lampworker who no longer makes beads. They’ve got a little lacy brass beadcap to hide the point where the glass and the wire stem meet, and I’ve just kept it simple, dangling from a brass cats-eye on brass wires.

File 30-08-2016, 4 54 25 PM

The next pair features a striking pair of orange spikes by Pauline Delaney, a lampworker here in Melbourne. I’ve paired them with a Czech glass oval bead with an etched bird, and darkened copper earwires.

File 30-08-2016, 4 55 17 PM

Finally, I recently purchased some headpins from Sue Kennedy and I picked out these ones to make earrings with today. I added some Czech glass in matching aqua hues, a tiny copper washer and wrapped the long headpin wire back around the top beads.

File 30-08-2016, 4 54 53 PM

I’m inspired now, so expect some more art headpin designs from me soon! Thanks for the nudge AJE.

Others joining in this bloghop include:

Guests:

Alison Herrington

Renetha Stanziano

Karin Grosset Grange

Gloria Allen

Deb Fortin

Cate van Alphen

Mona Arnott

Shai Williams

Sarajo Wentling

Kathy Lindemer

Solange Collin

Brooke Bock

Melissa Meman

Patricia Handschuh

Tammy Adams

Melissa Trudinger <– YOU ARE HERE!

AJE Team Members:

Caroline Dewison

Lesley Watt

Cathy Mendola

Jenny Davies-Reazor

Susan Kennedy

Laney Mead

Diana Ptaszynski

Lindsay Starr

Niky Sayers

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “AJE Art Headpins Challenge”

  1. Those earrings are gorgeous! I have made quite a few different pieces with these headpins. Would you like me to send photos?

  2. i was going to say that the orange flame-y headpins were my faves but then I saw Sue’s blue ones . Oh gosh how to pick a favourite. well I just can’t. lovely , all of them.

  3. As usual Melissa, I love it all! I always feel like you and I are on the same page in the coloring book. The orange pair is my fave! Thanks for playing along with us!

  4. Stunning pieces! You really need to be using those headpins more often. The orange daggers are really striking. I want some of those…lol! Lovely work, thanks for participating and for reading AJE!

  5. Beautiful designs as always Melissa! I love all of them but am really drawn to the beautiful colour of that last pair!

  6. All the earrings are stunning. The colors in the middle pair are fabulous. You did a great job with the headpins and picked some beauties to work with.

  7. I am in earring heaven right now. This challenge is loaded with gorgeous earrings. I want them all. I really love those last two pairs. For me, the longer, the better!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.