Beads, Blog Hops and Challenges

Art Bead Scene challenge: Klimt-inspired earrings

It’s a while since I did an Art Bead Scene monthly challenge piece. But this month’s inspiration artwork just happened to remind me of a pair of enameled charms I recently acquired from Cathleen Zaring (who was nice enough to make me a pair after I just missed out on a Facebook auction).

Park bei Lu.
“Park Near Lu” By Paul Klee, 1938; Oil and coloured paste on paper on jute; original frame strips; 100 x 70 cm

The painting in question is by Paul Klee, one of the early 20th century expressionist painters, and is called Park by Lu. I love the sharp contrast between the bold black branches, and the surrounding colour. And Klimt is one of my favourite artists.

As I mentioned, the branches reminded me of a pair of charms I bought from Cathleen Zaring, with similarly bold black trees painted on them. I added a couple of Czech glass rondelles in colors that coordinated with the painting and hung them on oxidized sterling silver wires.

File 27-08-2016, 8 01 05 PM

These are big earrings, but very light and they make quite a statement! Thank you for the inspiration Art Bead Scene!

 

8 thoughts on “Art Bead Scene challenge: Klimt-inspired earrings”

  1. I love the earrings. I really thought you made the charms for this challenge. I am amazed that you had them. They are just perfect for this.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.